Happy Holidays

Christmas in the post-War United States

Christmas in the post-War United States (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ever since I was a little girl, December has been my favorite month of the year… I think is the whole Xmas spirit, decorations, Christmas gifts (of course, all kids love the “gifts” part of the season).  I come from a very large family… on my mom’s side there are 10 siblings, on my dad’s side they are 9 siblings, so with 19 uncles/aunts you can imagine how many cousins, nephews/nieces, second cousins etc etc etc.

My mom’s family and my dad’s family knew each other way before my parents got married (they all went to the same school and lived in the same neighborhood)… so family gathering were never divided (there was no today we will meet with mom’s side and tomorrow with dad’s side of the family) often times we all gathered at the same time.  I remember my grandparents house (mom’s and dad’s) they lived like 4 blocks apart, so it was easy for us kids grab a bike or just walk from one house to another.

… back to the Xmas spirit….   Now that I am a mom, I try to make it special for my girls (I have a soon to be 4 yr old girl and a 10 week baby) My oldest is excited about Christmas, last week we went to buy her Xmas tree (she picked it of course) she decorated it  (as you can imagine she put all de decorations cramped on one side of the tree.. lol) and every single morning she runs to the tree and asks me “mommy where are my presents”?

Yesterday I took her to Macy’s and she sent her letter to Santa, she was so thrilled knowing Santa would read her letter (she scribbled all over it and drew a xmas tree)… it makes me happy to see her happy.

My husband did not grow with any of this…. he grew up in an islamic country and never knew anything about Christmas or Hanukkah… about the whole holiday spirit.   He grew up muslim, I grew up catholic but neither of us have any religious affiliation, we do believe in an all mighty all love God.    —-don’t want to open a can of worms and talk about religion— …..  my point is, at first my husband was like “why do we need a xmas tree, lets not tell our daughter about santa, because santa does not exist and when she grows up and realized it was all a lie she will be disappointed and even traumatized”  I laughed, I told him he didn’t understand the happiness the magic of christmas bring to a kid, going to bed (and not being able to sleep of excitment) and he next morning finding the gifts that “santa” brought us….  I told him I beleived in Santa and the toothfairy, and when I grew up (in my tween years) and found out it was not real, I was not dissapointed,  I thanked my parents for those special years of magic.

So, this year I want ti make it magical for my little one, on Xmas morning we will have a scavenger hunt!

Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Kwanza to you all, from my family to yours.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 456 hits
